Skate the Lake is a community event that depends on a team of dedicated volunteers. It was first held in 2004 and was known as the International Big Rideau Lake Speed Skating Marathon. 

We want to thank everyone for their assistance large or small over the years: it’s all greatly appreciated. Please contact us if you would like to join this dedicated group of volunteers and help with the Skate the Lake event.


Founding members: 

Marco Smits, Colin Horsfall, Chris Allan and Jen Kelly

President – John Bongers, Vice-President - Ken Maxwell, Secretary/Treasurer –June Finless


Set up and ice prep
John Bongers, Bob Petrie, Sue Warren, Ian Bongers, Tom Gifford, June Finless, Bob Montague, Ken Maxwell and Marcia Maxwell, Connie Scott, Clayton Battams, Norm Burns, Michael Bentivoglio and Marco Smits

Food and merchandise
Connie Scott, Rene and Cathy Bongers, Christine and Renee Bongers, Tracy Battams, Vicki Stevenson, June Finless, Tom Gifford, Richard Scott, Maija Thompson, Liz Bongers, Carolyn Breese, Claire Jacobs, Jessica French, Karl & Shelley Flander, Stephen Gilbert, Sue Warren, Tim Horton's Smiths Falls (coffee and hot chocolate), Dave Brunskill, Karen Wilson, Wendy James, Melissa Willis, Dawn Vander Velde and Morgan Vander Velde and Marcia Maxwell

Administration and registration
Sue Warren, Ken and Marcia Maxwell, Carolyn Hartin, Josee Gunville, Larry Cochran

Marketing, media relations, sponsorship and promotions
Ken and Marcia Maxwell, Marco Smits, Hugh Colton, John Vandusen, John and Christine Bongers, Jan and Bruce Haskins and Tom Gifford